Sunday, September 23, 2007

Nongbua Lamphu Province Geography
Nong Bua Lam Phu was traditionally given as appendage to the crown prince of Lan Xang. Chao Anou designated Phagna Narin the governor of this place in 1827, famous in history for being the spot where the King-Liberator of Siam, Naresuam, came in the sixteenth century to learn the outcome of the war between the Lao and the Burmese in the Vientiane region. Nong Bua Lam Phu was a Lao stronghold, where the birth place of the principal wife of Siribunyasan, last independent King of Vientiane.
The province was originally 5 Amphoe (districts) in the province Udon Thani. In 1993 this province was decentralized and the new province Nong Bua Lamphu was created. It is thus one of the three youngest provinces of Thailand, together with Amnat Charoen and Sa Kaeo.

The province is subdivided into 6 districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 59 sub-districts (tambon) and 636 villages (muban).

Mueang Nongbua Lamphu
Na Klang
Non Sang
Si Bun Rueang
Na Wang